Christmas in Virginia

I just spent the last 5 days visiting with my daughter, Samantha and her family. Her husband, Ben was quite busy with work and unfortunately I didn’t get to see him as much as usual but I did get to spend quite a bit of time with my 2 year old grandson, Isaiah. He is every kind of fabulous. This sweet little boy has completely stolen my heart.

Samantha helped me to chop veggies one day and we prepared a relish tray and a dip to snack on so that we would make good decisions during our visit. I was very surprised how excited Isaiah was to have sliced peppers and the dip. He even decided that he liked cucumbers after all.

I will share the dip recipe in a post tomorrow! 🙂

While I was there we went to Bass Pro Shop so Isaiah could see Santa and we were put on a waiting list. We had 2 hours to kill so we went to the restaurant inside the store. I can mark something new off of my bucket list. We ate alligator for the first time. 🙂 It was actually very good.

Bucket List

Even Isaiah and Samantha tried it. They both liked it. Samantha took a picture of me eating it but she never sent it to me from her phone so I only have theirs.

Afterwards we went to see Santa and he didn’t mind standing there and letting Santa speak to him but he wasn’t going to sit on his lap or say anything back to Santa. He was very happy afterwards and said, “I didn’t cry!” 🙂

We opened gifts while I was there and Isaiah was very happy.

Samantha has 2 cats and a dog. While all of her pets are very sweet one stands out. I would have a cat in a heartbeat if I could only have one with this cats exact personality. Sambucca is fabulous!

Isn’t he amazing? I would take him so quickly but he loves Isaiah and the other cat doesn’t like to be far from him for more than a few minutes. If Isaiah ever cries Bucca runs to him and rubs against him. He wants to calm him. He is so precious.

Samantha introduced me to the show- The Voice! I loved it and am now hooked.

The recipes that we made while I was down there included.

Salisbury Steak with Onion Gravy

Pepper Crusted Roast Beef

Chicken Paprika with Sour Cream Gravy

So this is my visit in a nutshell. I will be sharing 2 new recipes. I will type them tonight and schedule them to automatically upload each day.

2 responses to “Christmas in Virginia

  1. I am so happy that you were able to spend this special time with family.

  2. Thank you so much. It was a wonderful visit.

Leave a Reply

