Ham hock Cauliflower Cheese Soup

I apologize now but I don’t have a picture of this one either. It turned out white and all of my bowls are white so it wasn’t a pretty picture to add. The recipe was very good and reminded me of potato cheese soup that I used to eat many years ago before I was diagnosed with Diabetes.  I looked through several websites looking for a recipe for this and didn’t find one that I thought would make me as happy as this one.

I used homemade chicken broth but you can definitely buy it in the store. I also used the ham hocks from where I bought a hog from a local farm. I cut as much meat as I could from the hocks.

Ham Hock Cauliflower Cheese Soup

  • 2 ham hocks with a lot of meat on the bone
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1 quart water (possibly more)
  • 3 Tablespoons Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 head cauliflower, diced into small pieces
  • 3-4 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • few dashes Franks Hot Sauce (optional)

In a large stock pot add butter and once this is hot saute onion and celery until translucent. Add the meat from the ham hocks and stir for 3 minutes to release the oils. Add water, chicken broth, chicken base, black pepper and cauliflower. You may need to add additional water if there is not enough to cover the cauliflower. Cook at a simmer for 15 minutes until cauliflower is soft.

I used a hand potato press and smashed the cauliflower into very tiny pieces. Add cheese, heavy whipping cream and hot sauce and stir until cheese has melted. Serve hot. Serves 10

Nutritional Info per serving: Calories- 234, Carbs- 7.1, Fiber- 2.5

Net carbs- 4.6

Leave a Reply

