My Life!

I don’t really make New Year’s Resolutions. I decided a few weeks ago that I really wanted to get healthier than I currently am. I have struggled over the last 2 years during the divorce with my weight and making poor eating decisions.  I went through a depression that I didn’t want to admit to anyone. I am no longer in that dark place. It is funny that through it all I always felt God’s presence and I knew that I was never alone.

I have been planning a lot of my meals and also planning my exercise routine. I have been very blessed that God sent me neighbors (Stephanie and Andrea) that are absolutely wonderful. I walk and exercise with them. Today Andrea came over and we did a 45 minute Zumba video, 10 minute kettlebell workout and even tried Planking. We really worked up a sweat and I feel so much better. My shoulder has been giving me problems since I dislocated it in before Thanksgiving but the workout made it feel better. All of my muscles in my neck and back really loosened up. I am meeting with a massage therapist in the morning for a deep tissue massage to help relieve the tension even more.

Tonight for dinner I made Mashed Cauliflower, Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Salisbury Steal with Onion Gravy. I feel so blessed to have a home that I love, great friends, and the ability to take control of my life. Lets do it together. I hope that you all won’t mind me sharing my progress while I take control of my health for a second time. I have felt like such a failure for the last 2 years while I gained weight and went through the divorce. I will no longer use negative terms when I describe myself. I am worth having a healthy body, friends and having people in my life. Lets do it together.

11 responses to “My Life!

  1. I am not a resolutions person, either, but I need to lose about 50 pounds this year. Actually, I should loose more like 120, but I figure that the first 50 will be a good starting point. Good luck with your resolution and thanks for sharing!

    • Jan we can do it together. I like giving myself goals of 10 pounds at a time. I like to treat myself to a new top every 10 pounds. 🙂

      • That is a great idea! A new top isn’t a huge amount to spend but something fun!

        My biggest problem is that my family are all major carbaholics and it is really hard to find enough non-carb foods around here to be healthful. It’s a constant struggle.

      • It can be difficult if you don’t have family support. Will they eat leftovers? If they would you could take turns making their food and then your food. You can eat the leftovers from your low carb day on their carb day.

      • Not really. My parents are the worst. They are total carb addicts. They say they want to be supportive, but they do odd things like use up my low carb or sugar free products and replace them with low fat. Hubby and my boys were great about it when I did low carb once before. If they wanted a treat, they went with daddy and it didn’t affect me at all. We all ate the same things at home. It’s just harder now with my parents sharing our home with us. Funny thing is, Dad is diabetic and he will fight you tooth and nail for bread. He must eat a half a loaf per day…all toasted!]

  2. Grace, you have been an inspiration for me in the past and I love it when you post to your blog! I too am trying to focus on being positive about myself and my body. For too long I have criticized everything about my body and now it is ready for some self love.

    • Judy I have noticed a big change in my motivation once I stopped saying negative things about myself. Lets do it together

  3. Welcome back. Glad to hear things are getting better in your world. It really pays to have a work out buddy.

  4. Thank you for your honesty and for posting again! I do enjoy your posts! 🙂

    I’m like Judy. I view my body so negatively! Yesterday was a milestone for me – I turned 50! This year I’m going to try harder to love my self and take better care of my body. I do have some health issues, but with God I know all things are possible! He helps those who help themselves. Here’s to better health and a happy, prosperous year! 🙂

    • Jillian I think all women look at their body negatively. I think the media, Television and advertising put so much stress on people to be perfect. None of us are perfect. I would love to see advertising without them photoshopping the models. I wish they didn’t always use models that are a size 0 too.

Leave a Reply

