Broccoli Salad

On Christmas day I went to my son’s home and then to his Sister-in-laws home for Christmas dinner. Heather had made a broccoli salad that I tried and knew that I would need to modify to make myself. This was very good and I knew that I would make it often.

I looked online for the recipe and found it but had to change the measurements and use Splenda (or other sugar replacement of choice) instead of sugar. It calls for raisins and I did put them into the recipe but I drastically reduced the amount of them. It comes out to 9.5 carbs per serving but it also has 8.2 grams of protein. If you choose to leave the raisins out of the recipe the net carb count becomes 4.4.  The recipe also called for onions but Heather was out of them so she didn’t put them in it. I don’t like raw onion so I intentionally left them out. I can see me taking this in my cooler for lunch. Eating low carb doesn’t have to be boring. 🙂

Now before people start making comments about the Splenda let me give this disclaimer. Each person must make this decision for themselves as to which sugar replacement that wish to use. I can not use any xylitol, malitol or sorbitol as it causes digestive issues for me. I do not like the taste of Stevia or Agave Nectar. Splenda is my choice based on taste. You must make your own choice according to your own preference.

Broccoli Salad

  • 1/2 pound bacon, cut into small pieces and cooked
  • 3 heads of broccoli
  • 1/2 cup raisins, do not pack cup
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 Tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Splenda or other sugar replacement

Cook bacon and drain on towel. Add bacon, broccoli, raisins and sunflower seeds in a bowl. In a separate bowl mix mayonnaise, vinegar and Splenda. Add to broccoli mixture and stir well. Keep refrigerated and serve cold. Serves 12.

Nutritional Information per serving: Calories- 208, Carbs 15.1, Fiber- 5.6, Protein- 8.2

Net Carbs- 9.5 with raisins, 4.4 without raisins

6 responses to “Broccoli Salad

  1. Debbie Hiemstra

    I too make this salad using Splenda. I am diabetic so this works well for me also. Thanks

  2. I make this recipe often but use 1/2 broccoli and 1/2 cauliflower. Absolutely delicious.
    I do not use the raisins.

  3. I don’t eat pork, which other meat would be best to use in replacement? Also would this count for a while meal, such as lunch?
    Or does this go on the side of a protein?

    • Welcome to the board. I am not sure as I haven’t tried any other meat. I think I would try a smoked turkey or chicken. I have been taking it for my lunch and having it as a meal so it could be either a side or a meal. Most people serve it as a side dish.

Leave a Reply

