Contemplation

I have been trying to figure out why I allowed myself to gain weight during the divorce, new job, move to a new home, etc… I weighed myself daily so nothing was a surprise but yet it wasn’t enough to make me stop. I love Netflix and I began watching the series Lost that was on a few years ago. I had never seen it so I watched it from beginning to end. There was one particular episode where Hurley was meeting with his psychiatrist. Hurley was overweight and he was quite depressed following an accident where a deck that he had been standing on collapsed resulting in the death of 2 friends. His counselor pointed out that following the accident that Hurley stopped speaking and sleeping, but never eating – because that is how he punishes himself.

I stopped right there and thought of this for a bit and came to the realization that I am punishing myself. I have been punishing myself for 2 years. I realized that this needs to stop. I am going back to the basics and doing my meal planning. I did that on this board so I am going to return to doing them on the board each week. If I stop I want someone to call me on it and ask how I am doing. 😛

So here we go.

Sunday- leftover Salisbury Steak with Onion Gravy, mashed cauliflower, roasted brussel sprouts

Monday- Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil (I will also take this for my lunches)

Tuesday- Pepper Crusted Roast Beef, mashed cauliflower, broccoli salad

Wednesday, Thursday and Friday- I will make fajitas using the leftover pot roast

Saturday and Sunday- Low Carb pizza

3 responses to “Contemplation

  1. hello grace.dont beat yourself up too much,we will get there. i blame my weight gain on the weather.now i am stepping up to the plate and accepting responsibility for my behavior one day at a time.

    • Carrre we can do it together. Finally coming out and admitting it was the first step for me. Welcome to the blog!

  2. Hi Grace 🙂 I’ve just stumbled on your blog via Pintrest. I love it! Your recipes sound delicious and I already have 3 on the menu for the week (pizza pot roast, the cauliflower and sausage cheese bake, and the Salisbury steak with onion gravy). I’ve played around with getting healthy for awhile but this has to be it this time. I owe it to myself. I’m needing to lose around 60-70lbs. I have to remind myself slow and stay wins the race. I too often give up when there isn’t dramatic weightloss.

    So, I just wanted to say thank you for your posts (especially your lunch ideas!!) and that I’ll be here on the journey. Have a great week! Can’t wait to see what you have planned.

Leave a Reply

