Kale and Turkey Sausage Soup

My neighbor Andrea brought me this beautiful bowl of soup to try this week and it knocked my socks off. I had never tried a soup with kale in it and had someone suggested it prior to this I probably would have just walked on by but I now know that I have to use kale on a regular basis.

Andrea said she found the original recipe is a Hungry Girl’s cookbook and she modified it slightly to make it low carb. The original recipe contained potatoes.  I would only make one additional small change to it to lower the carb count just a bit more. It is still very low in carbs as she does it and it was very good. Despite the color of the soup it has a bit of a bite to it due to the crushed red chili pepper flakes. I just had some for my dinner.

I tried to find the original recipe on the internet and I came up empty so here goes.

Kale and Turkey Sausage Soup

  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups chopped kale leaves, fresh
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon each salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 3 links uncooked sweet Italian Turkey sausage
  • 1/2 cup half and half (I would use heavy whipping cream

Remove sausage casings and cut into bite size pieces. Place all ingredients except for half and half in a pot and cook until onions and peppers are cooked well and translucent. Add half and half and stir well. Makes 8 servings.

2 responses to “Kale and Turkey Sausage Soup

  1. Marie McCullough

    I made this soup tonight, SERIOUSLY, it is the best soup I have ever made and eaten in my life! Over the top! Thank you so much!!
    Do you happen to have the carb count?

    • No I don’t have the carb count I must have forgotten to figure it. I will do that one day this week and add it to the recipe. I amglad you liked the recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

