Sausage Cauliflower Soup

I mentioned yesterday on Facebook where this recipe came from. This recipe belonged to one of my clients who passed away a few weeks ago. I met with her husband and their 9 year old daughter and they were sharing with me how much they missed her. She had spoiled them rotten and they were having to learn how to do things on their own. They were a great source of strength for each other.

Their daughter was telling me how she had made her Mom’s soup the night before and it was so good that she had 2 bowls. She said it tasted very close to her Mom’s but something was missing. Her Dad lovingly put his arm around her and said that they would figure it out together.

They shared her soup recipe with me and I only had to make one change to it to make it low carb but I did decide to add cheese to it too. The cheese is entirely optional when you make this. Β I replaced the potatoes with cauliflower from her recipe. It was so good that I had 2 bowls of this as well. πŸ™‚

I have my thermos on the counter to use tomorrow when I go to work to enjoy some soup on the cold day. I am looking forward to sharing this with Caleb when he comes this weekend. πŸ™‚

Sausage Cauliflower Soup

  • 1 pound sage sausage (breakfast type in a roll)
  • 1 stalk celery- finely chopped
  • 1 medium sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1 large head cauliflower cut into small pieces
  • water
  • 3 Tablespoons Chicken Base- comes in a jar
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 8 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded

Add sausage, celery and onion to a hot skillet and cook until onion is translucent and sausage is cooked.

In a large soup pot add cauliflower, chicken base and water to cover. Bring to a boil and cook until cauliflower is soft. Add celery salt and sausage, celery and onions once cooked to the pot. Cook for another 5 minutes allowing flavors to blend.

Add cheese and stir until melted. Add black pepper and serve. Makes 8 servings.

Nutritional Information- Calories- 170.8, Fat 10.7, Carbs- 9.8, Fiber- 4.0, Protein- 10

Net carbs per serving- 5.8

 

2 responses to “Sausage Cauliflower Soup

  1. This looks amazing, will make that tonight!

Leave a Reply

