Shakshuka

Over the next few weeks you all will think I have completely lost my mind. I am trying something new for me and I hope you all enjoy it too. I am still eating low carb but I am trying to eat as clean as possible. I am trying to cut out as many preservatives and processed foods as I can.

Last night I went through my archive of recipes that I have been saving in my Evernote cookbook of recipes to try. I was looking entirely for recipes that I could make as clean as possible. I made my meal plan for the week and made my grocery list and headed to the store after work today.

While I was in the grocery store a woman looked into my cart and noticed all of the fresh vegetables and fruits and commented on how healthy my items looked. I am thinking that cutting out preservatives and processed foods can only make you feel healthier.

While I was looking through the recipes I found one for Shakshuka. It is a recipe that originated in Israel and is often served for breakfast but I made it for dinner. This is so easy to make. The recipe calls for sugar and I just substituted my choice of sugar replacement. The recipe called for either 4 cups diced fresh tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes. I chose to use fresh tomatoes. I also chose to use an orange pepper instead of red or green.

I wish that the recipe gave exact measurements for spices as it took me quite a bit of trial and error to get the flavor to my liking. I seldom use salt but I found that this recipe screamed for it since I used so many fresh vegetables instead of canned. I have no doubt that I will be making this often for a quick dinner.

Saute onions and garlic

Add chopped peppers

Add tomatoes and tomato paste.

Added eggs

Finished recipe. Eggs are cooked thoroughly and parsley added for garnish.

I found the recipe at Tori Avey’s blog. I love the way she tells how she discovered this recipe during her travels. Her photographs are amazing and makes you want to travel there to experience it all yourself. Please go here to see the full recipe for this. Shakshuka

Leave a Reply

