The Nightingale

I have joined the local ladies book club at the local library and the book for this month is The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I had never heard of her before nor this book but this book had my love and attention from page one. I will try not to give too much away in my book review to keep the book interesting for you.

nightingale

This book was set during WWII in France during the time that Germany had control. Most of the men in France were off fighting and were not at home. Germany entered and forced their way into the homes and moved in. Food was short and money was almost impossible to come by. The Nazis took most of the food and the women were trying to survive and to protect their children.

The book focuses on two sisters who were doing everything they could to survive and to help others as well. One was married and had a small child. The other was 18 years old and joined the resistance. The Nazi were exporting and killing all of the Jews in France and anyone helping them were being killed as well. These two sisters put their lives in danger to save so many.

The book begins with the statement, “If I have learned anything in this long life of mine, it is this: In love we find out who we want to be; in war we find out who we are.” When faced with an unbelievable situation I do believe this statement to be true.

This book is well written and will definitely hold your attention. I highly recommend reading this.

To read more about this book read here. Kristin Hannah

 

5 responses to “The Nightingale

  1. I haven’t read this one yet but since you loved this one, try “Magic Hour” and “Night Road” by the same author!

  2. You will love ‘The Nightingale’! I couldn’t put it down! I’ve read several of Kristin Hannah books and I think this is my favorite so far.

  3. Kristin Hannah is a great writer! I’ve enjoyed many of her books! My favorite so far is Winter Garden.

Leave a Reply

