The 19th Wife

I am in two book clubs and last week someone in my local library book club suggested that I read The 19th Wife and it was wonderful. I currently read about 3-4 books per week. I put a lot of miles on my car with my job and I always have an audio book going. There have been many other books that I have read and enjoyed but I haven’t shared with you all but I hope to add them more often as they are a big part of my life now.

I always tend to avoid telling too much about a book but I am not sure that I can passionately describe this book without giving away too much so I will give you a warning that from this point on there might be spoilers. To buy the book please click here- The 19th Wife: A Novel

 

 

51oayomsrhl

When I was in college I did a research paper about the Mormon faith and how the architecture of their church reflected their beliefs. We had been instructed to choose a denomination that was not of our own and to visit the church and attend one service. I chose the Mormon church. I did my research for my paper and I honestly thought that I understood their beliefs and history but I did not. This book totally opened my eyes to the roots of the Mormon church and how the church split between the Fundamentalist Church of Latter Day Saints (FLDS) and the Church of Latter Day Saints (LDS).

Many people believe that the only difference between the two are that the FLDS believe in plural marriage and the LDS believe in monogamy between one husband and one wife. This book made me realize exactly how different the two are.

This book tells two stories within one book. One story recounts the beginning of the how Joseph Smith founded the church and ended with Brigham Young’s wife Ann Eliza who was numbered the 19th wife publicly divorced him and making the secrets of the Mormon church very public.

The second story is a modern day story of current FLDS and shows the plight of the young men being taken in the dead of night and abandoned on the side of the road because the Prophet wants the young teenage girls to be available to be forced into marriage to the older men who have many wives already. The young men are told they are excommunicated and they will not be able to go to Heaven. The young girls are told that if they do not willingly participate in plural marriage that they also will never be allowed to enter Heaven.

One young man named Jordan Scott had been abandoned on the side of the road as a young boy. He survived by participating in prostitution and living on the streets. At the age of 21 he returns to his FLDS community when his mother is arrested for the murder of his father.

Through this I learned about how there is an underground railroad that help the young women to escape similar to that of how the slaves were able to escape. The people who assist these young ladies risk their lives to help them. The young boys who are cast out are called Lost Boys. To learn more about Lost Boys and how you can help please click here- The Lost Boys

To learn how to help these young ladies to escape please click here. The Hope Organization

I hope that everyone reads this book. Feel free to discuss this in the comment section but please be respectful of each other.

Leave a Reply

