Low Carb Spinach Manicotti

I first saw this recipe on Facebook a few weeks ago and I saved it to make on a day when my sister Donna and her husband David were coming for dinner. Donna arrived early to help with this and it did go much smoother with two people. Isn’t this a beautiful dish?

IMAG2931

IMAG2928

Now I can tell that some of you are saying this doesn’t resemble manicotti. Well there is a very good reason for this. The original blog that shared this recipe took beautiful pictures of their version of manicotti. The original blog made delicious crepes that turned out beautifully shaped every time and they miraculously rolled into perfect little manicotti shaped items. That is not how the crepes turned out for me. Mine turned into broken little pieces. I only had one crepe actually survive into the perfect shape of a crepe. Therefore, Donna and I decided to make an executive decision and we layered the items into a casserole. I am sure that it tasted the same.

IMAG2927

I added Italian Sausage into the marinara sauce and I love Parmesan Cheese so I added more of it to the top than called for. Now I am not normally a Ricotta Cheese fan but in this recipe I approve of it. I did realize that when I heated the leftovers and got the recipe extra hot that I preferred the taste of the Ricotta that way.

Now to tell you how well we liked the recipe this is how we ranked it.

David- 10, Donna- 8, Me- 8. David loved this so much that he had 2 1/2 helping of this for lunch yesterday. So enough about us. Follow this link to get the recipe.

LOW CARB SPINACH MANICOTTI

Now to other things. After our lunch Donna surprised me by bringing in items to make beautiful Umbrella wreaths. The first one is mine and the second one Donna made for my neighbor. Aren’t these beautiful?

IMAG2940

IMAG2943

Donna is very talented and possibly the most giving person that I have ever met. You can’t have her. She is MY SISTER!!!

4 responses to “Low Carb Spinach Manicotti

  1. The umbrella wreaths are absolutely gorgeous! I like them so much ‘ll be making them for a few birthdays I have coming up. Thanks for the great idea. What a nice sister you have!

  2. I’m no good at crepes. I think it takes a special skillet and a little skill, too! 😀 I have baked something similar before by baking the deep dish pizza crust and cutting it into strips and layering like lasagna. Anything gooey and cheesy has got to be good, no matter how it looks, right?! 😀

    • I have the special skillet and I have made crepes for years but this recipe has difficulty sticking together. There is another recipe for crepes on my blog that I love to make. Despite them falling apart this recipe was delicious.

Leave a Reply

