Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Occasionally a book comes along that touches the heart and this one is it for me. I love to hike as I have mentioned here before. I had always wanted to hike the Appalachian Trail (Over 1000 miles) but now given my age and health that is not an option for me so reading this story helped me to see the experience from someone who has accomplished a long hiking trail.

I get my books from the library and if I love the book I will purchase it for myself. I read about 50 books for every 1 book that I purchase. I listened to this book on audio while driving for work. I loved it so much that I purchased the book and the video for myself from Amazon. To get this book for yourself click below.

Wild: From Lost to Found On The Pacific Crest Trail- BOOK

Wild: From Lost to Found On The Pacific Crest Tail- DVD

wild-book-cover1

This is the summary from Good Reads describing this book.

“At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more than a thousand miles of the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State — and she would do it alone.
Told with suspense and style, sparkling with warmth and humor, Wild powerfully captures the terrors and pleasures of one young woman forging ahead against all odds on a journey that maddened, strengthened, and ultimately healed her.”

This makes me want to go out and purchase a tent and hit the trail and escape from my daily reality. It is a dream that I had pursued at a younger age. If you have read this book please let me know. I watched the video of it tonight but it was no where near as good as the book. I hated for the book to end.

4 responses to “Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

  1. I really enjoyed this book, so I got it for my mother-in-law, who had always wanted to hike the Appalachian Trail. She liked reading about the Pacific Coast Trail, too. Then when the movie came out on DVD , I bought one for myself and one for my mother-in-law for Morher’s Day. When I watched the movie, I was so embarrassed. The character has a lot of problems to work through, but the explicitness of the sex scenes were ridiculous. I wish I had only read the book and been able to imagine the content in my head. The movie ruined it for me. And I hated that I gave it to my husband’s Mom

    • I have to say that the video shocked me too. The book didn’t describe sex scenes explicitly and told just enough to let you know that she had sex. I was not expecting it and I never expected Reese Witherspoon to do those scenes. The book was so much better.

  2. Bonnie Reichert

    I’ve been needing a good book and this one sounds like just what I need, feeling lost these days. Thank you for the recommendation!

    • I am sorry that you are struggling. I have those days myself. Things will get better. Is there anything you want to talk about?

Leave a Reply

