Once a Week Cooking

Donna and I have been talking about doing the once a month cooking for a long time now and this morning we did it for the first time. We decided to just do enough for a week to try the new recipes. We made five new recipes that are main entrees and one new recipe for a side dish. As I try them I will update if we liked them or not. I only had to make small changes to two of them to make them low carb.

We started working on this at 10:15 and we were finished by 12:30. We were able to make 10 meals that serve 4 people each within that time. I bought most of the items for the recipes at Aldi and we kept the receipts to tally how much we spent. I want to do this to start eating healthier and to save money. We spent $58 each. Her meals will last them about 1-2 weeks and I figure that mine will last me 2-3 weeks since I am single. This is what we had we finished.

weekly meal

I put mine in smaller baggies whenever possible so as not to cook a huge amount and then bore with it before it goes bad. The tortillas are low carb and came from Kroger.

The meals that we made were:

Chili- This will fill a large pot.

White Enchilada Chicken Casserole

Chicken Alfredo with Broccoli

Baked Ziti- I made some alterations to this. I did not use pasta. I am hoping to have this for dinner tomorrow so I will let you know if I like it and what my changes were. You might be surprised for what I used instead of pasta.

Cilantro Lime Chicken with Black Beans- This one has a bit higher carb count but it is still doable. Many people are able to eat black beans without them spiking their glucose. I will let you know if I am one of those people. I did make another change to it to lower the carbs. I will share my changes after I have had time to try this one.

We found the original recipes from this site. She does an excellent job of making the grocery list for you and providing directions for how to do them.

A Passion for Savings

We learned that we need to make a few changes to how we do this next time. I will bake the chicken instead of cooking it in a skillet to cut down on time.

Write on the ziplock bags before you put the ingredients into the bag.

Have cookie sheets to freeze the bags flat on inside your freezer.

Make each recipe once before creating multiples of it. You don’t need to follow the recipes exactly. For instance I am not a big fan of sour cream unless it is mixed well into a sauce. I did not layer it in the Baked Ziti recipe.

Donna and I will do this again soon and as we do I will share these recipes here too.

 

2 responses to “Once a Week Cooking

  1. I may just have to start this way of eating. I did it many years ago and lost but last time I messed my kidneys up. But if I can make some of these recipes it may do better. Thnks.

    >

Leave a Reply

