Baked “Ziti” with Cabbage

I promised to share the recipes with you as I try them if I like them. I do love this one and will make it as a freezer meal often. I divided it into two baking dishes since I am single. Each recipe was supposed to make four servings but I can already tell that I will get more than that from this dish.

Several years ago I read that if you boiled cabbage in water with heavy whipping cream that it would remove the strong flavor of cabbage and you could use it instead of lasagna noodles. I had never tried it until now and it was fabulous. I didn’t add a lot of the cabbage but I honestly didn’t taste the cabbage flavor. The flavor of the sauce and cheeses was just a pleasant Italian recipe experience.

IMAG3147

IMAG3145

I found the recipe here- A Passion For Saving

Baked “Ziti” with Cabbage-  Ingredients for Freezer Meal:

1/2 head of cabbage cut into bite size pieces and single layers

1 cup heavy whipping cream

½ Cup of onion, chopped finely

2 Cups of Ground Beef Cooked (approx. 1 lb.)

2 Jars of Spaghetti Sauce

6 Slices Provolone Cheese

1 Cup sour cream- I omitted because I am not a fan of sour cream.

8 oz. Bag of Mozzarella cheese

Directions for Assembly: Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add cabbage and heavy whipping cream, and cook until al dente, about 7-8 minutes; drain. In a large skillet, brown onion and ground beef over medium heat. Add spaghetti sauce, and simmer 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray 2 8×8 inch pans with non-stick cooking spray. Layer as follows in each pan: 1/4 of the ziti, 1/4 of the sauce, 4 slices of Provolone cheese, 1/2 of sour cream, 1/4 of cabbage, 1/4 mozzarella cheese and 1/4 of sauce mixture. Top with grated Parmesan cheese and remaining mozzarella cheese. Bake covered for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until cheeses are melted.

 

7 responses to “Baked “Ziti” with Cabbage

  1. Grace you mention layering everything in 1/4’s. Are there 2 whole layers using 1/4 each (meaning 1/2 of all ingredients). I am confused. You don’t mention layering each item twice in each of the two pans. Help??? This looks yummy!

    • I am sorry that it took me so long to answer. I have worked really long hours this week. It says to layer it as you would lasagna. I just eyeballed it and went from there giving it two layers.

  2. Very interested in the once a week cooking. Thanx for your feedback on how this is working for you. Also enjoy your book reviews.

    • Thank you for your feedback. It helps knowing that people are actually reading what I am posting. 🙂 I tried my second recipe tonight for dinner and I loved it too.

  3. I love cabbage, going to try this.

    >

  4. Peggy, you don’t use pasta at all right? Just the cabbage

    >

Leave a Reply

