Slow Cooker Chili

I tried another freezer meal and I love it. The recipe called for it to be done in a slow cooker but I cooked it in a pot on the stove instead. I fell down my stairs 10 weeks ago and hurt my hip. Since I keep my slow cooker in a crawl space and getting into it right now isn’t exactly comfortable for me I won’t be using it much for a bit. I am sure it would be just as good prepared in a slow cooker. I only made a couple of changes to it. I added an extra teaspoon of chili powder as I felt that it needed a bit more punch. I also used a chili mix bean instead of kidney beans. While it was cooking I at first thought it was a bit thin but I let it cook down a bit and it was okay. I may add a bit of tomato paste next time to make it a bit richer. This recipe was still a complete success as being a freezer meal.

You can get the original recipe here. Passion For Saving Freezer Meals

IMAG3169

I spent my morning working on the yearly training and testing for my license for my job. Bucca was my  friend and stayed in a box a couple of feet away. I am so glad that I got this cat to live with me. He is such a sweetheart.

IMAG3167

Slow Cooker Chili

Ingredients for freezer pack:

2 Cups Cooked Ground Beef

1 Cup of Onion, diced

2 Cans Diced Tomatoes

1 Can of Tomato Sauce

1 Can of Water (I use the Diced Tomatoes Can)

1 Can Dark Red Kidney Beans (I used a 15 ounce can of chili mix- pinto beans with a light tomato sauce and spices)

1 Packet Chili Seasoning Mix

1 teaspoon chili powder (This was my addition)

3 Stalks Celery, chopped

2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 Tbsp. Sugar (I omitted entirely. You could substitute for any diet sweetener of your choice)

Directions: Cook Ground Beef and Onion. Combine all ingredients in a Freezer Gallon Size Bag. Freeze until Needed. Remove from Freezer and Thaw Overnight in Fridge. Place contents of bag in Slow Cooker and cook on High for 4 hours or Low for 8 hours Serve with Fritos (omit for low carb) and Shredded Cheese (I used Mexican blend of cheese).

 

4 responses to “Slow Cooker Chili

  1. This looks really good! Nice to come home to a cooked meal. I am going to put this in single servings back into the freezer. Would be great for lunch! I am so loving your freezer meal series! Thank you for sharing them!

  2. Peggy, how many carbs

    >

    • I didn’t do the carb count because it will be different depending on which type of bean that you use. Mine came to 8 net carbs per bowl.

Leave a Reply

